Using the Cow Dog As ‘Bait’ [PHOTOS]

I could swear this dog is giving me raspberries.

I could swear this dog is giving me raspberries.

The calves are curious at this age. When Rowdy comes out in the pasture with me they just have to get a closer look at him.

It was such a beautiful evening I decided to grab my camera when we went out to feed. While the Momma’s were busy eating it was the perfect time to use Rowdy as bait.

I crunched down to take photos at a low angle. They are curious and begin moving in.

Shhh here they come!

Closer and closer they crept.

Closer...

This one is whispering “Go up there and see what it is!”

Whispering

Double the curiosity! They continued to creep closer and closer.

Double the curiosity

Maybe if they sniff it, they can figure out what it is.

sniffing

Closer….

Closer

Now look at what this dog is doing. It took every ounce I had not to burst into laughter. I kept telling him “Wait…wait…good dog!” He even closed his eyes!

1970497_625643124158111_619013242_n

1978864_625642977491459_1883392774_n

1383244_625643224158101_2047889631_n

Now even the yearling heifers were curious…

47434_625643250824765_375028465_n

I finally let him get up and told him what a good dog he was. I was so proud of him. I giggled and laughed and petted him and loved on him. He got up, walked a little ways away and sat down like that was the hardest thing he has ever done. Remember, they are bred to chase cattle not lay down and play dead!

Then I captured this picture! I yelled “Rowdy! Look out!”

Look out!

Oh crap! She’s right behind me isn’t she?

Categories: Calving, Dogs | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

